Foss (2008) Internal Drainage Board - Information

The Foss (2008) Internal Drainage Board was formed on 1st April 2011 with the amalgamation of the Foss IDB and the Wilberfoss & Thornton Level IDB. The Foss (2008) IDB is a Member of the Association of Drainage Authorities (ADA).

The Foss (2008) IDB being made up out of the following Districts -

Foss District

This District lies primarily within the Vale of York, within the north-east quadrant from the City of York. It is made up of two distinct areas. The northern most being linear, generally following the route of the Bulmer/Spittal Beck which was once the Bulmer IDB in its own right. It commences east of Whenby, north of Sheriff Hutton outfalling into the River Derwent to the south-east of Barton-le-willows. The much larger area, originally the River Foss IDB, follows the course of the River Foss from a location near Crayke into the City of York itself stopping at the City's pre-1991 boundary near the Nestle/Rowntree Factory. Downstream of this point the River is classed as "Main River". The District also includes land to the "Hull Road" which commences at the Stocton-on-the-Forest/Holby area before again stopping at the City's pre 1991 boundary. The River Foss itself was navagatable from before the 1800s, being canalised for much of its length past Strensall (located to the north of York) but poor ground conditions and the onset of the railways returned the canal to a waterway, although the City of York Council retain the navigation rights within the old city limits.

Wilberfoss & Thornton Level District

This District was first constituted in 1915 under a Land Drainage Provisional Order Confirmation Act. The Board was then reconstituted in 1990. The District is in the East Riding of Yorkshire between the River Derwent and Pocklington. Its northern boundary is south of Stamford Bridge and southern boundary near East Cottingwith.

Districts Foss Wilberfoss & Thornton Level
Constituted March 1976 July 1990
Area 9,085ha 3,410ha
Length of Maintained Watercourses 162.54km 52.94km
Area of Agricultural Land 7,275ha 3,248ha
Area of non-Agricultural Land 1,810ha 162ha
Number of Pumping Stations 1 (not operated by the Board) 0
Area Dependent upon Pumping 70ha 0ha
Towns and Villages in and around the District Barton Hill
East Lilling
New Earswick
Sand Hutton
Sheriff Hutton
West Lilling
East Cottingwith
Full Sutton
High Catton
Low Catton
Newton upon Derwent
Sutton upon Derwent

Organisation Chart

Board Links

Financial Information

The documents below are in PDF format and will open in a new window.
Please be aware that the Annual Return is a large file and will take some time to download.

Notice of Public Rights & Publication of Unaudited Annual Return (Adobe PDF - 299KB)

Notice of Conclusion of Audit and Right to Inspect the Annual Return (Adobe PDF - 299KB)

Annual Return for the year ended 31 March (Adobe PDF - 3,056KB)

IDB1 for the year ended 31 March (Adobe PDF - 3,056KB)

In order to view and print the documents, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader.
If you do not have Adobe Reader, it can be downloaded for free from the logo below.

Adobe Acrobat Logo

Users of screen readers may wish to use the online PDF to HTML converter from Adobe.

Foss Area Map

Click Here

Dreamweaver CS4 templates for Adobe Dreamweaver